NL singles leader in 2008, 2009, 2010 is Ryan Theriot?

Ryan Theriot breaks his bat

(Ryan Theriot breaks his bat in a September 22, 2007 game where the Cubs (82-73) defeated the Reds (66-89) with a score of 9-5. Batting 8th in the lineup Theriot went 3-for-4 with two runs scored.)

Recently, scrappy infielder Ryan Theriot retired at 34 years old. Unbelievably, he lead the National League in singles during 2008, 2009, 2010. This puts in the company of great hitters like Wade Boggs and Rod Carew who both lead their league in singles for three consecutive seasons.

Most consecutive seasons leading the league in singles:

10 seasons
Ichiro Suzuki, AL 2001-2010

7 seasons
Nellie Fox, AL 1954-1960

4 seasons
Brett Butler, NL 1990-1993
Willie Keeler, NL 1897-1900

3 seasons
Ryan Theriot, NL 2008-2010
Wade Boggs, AL 1983-1985
Willie Wilson, AL 1980-1982
Rod Carew, AL 1972-1974
Lloyd Wanger, NL 1927-1929
Willie Keeler, AL 1904-1906
Ginger Beaumont, NL 1902-1904
Billy Hamilton, NL 1890-1892


Enjoyed this blog post?

Join the creatives who receive 57hits blog posts via the email newsletter
(Whenever it posts. Around 1-2 times per month)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.